Daily Archives: 2008/09/01

Fixing Adblock Plus on Firefox

As Epiphany on Ubuntu constantly crashes with Flash I needed to go back to usage of Firefox. Its so complicated t use, although it partly has added some Epiphany features like when you type it searches in your bookmarks – what Epi providied since ages. I still dont have illigent search like on Epi where I type a word and then could select a search engine to use. Is there a way to get such search in Firefox, also.

I recently had huge problems after the adblock-plus package got updated – some weird installation error and adblock plus got deactivated – I guess this one problem you get if the core plugins (anybody out there who can live without adblock plus?) are not distributed and manage by the core team. I have deleted these files in my firefox directory: “extensions/*, pluginreg.dat”. That allowed me to install the newest Adblock Plus 0.7.5.5. again. Weird but ok. Problem is that no general user may ever come to this solution. Those who cant handle might be better off when the save all bookmarks to desktop or so -  exit FF – then remove .mozilla/firefox directory and recreate a Firefox profile by start it again – the reimport bookmarks.

I dont really need much extensions. Primarily I only use Adblock-plus and Flash plugin. I still dont get what people do with NoScript plugin – ok you can block Javascript – this can protext you from Javascripts from random websites – but then it seems you need to enable Javascript for every site. My guess is that the people who use this daily do not surf a lot of different pages. Personally I think I surf many thousand different sites in a week – often only for seconds. I really do not get to visit the same sites over ond over again as many users seem to do. So this would mean für me that I would need to add  about 3 -4 seconds for enabling Javascript for one site – then multiply that with the thousands of websites and this adds to some hours a week that it would cost me to select exceptions.

3 Comments

Filed under Browser, Free Software, Linux, Technology, Web