Daily Archives: 2008/09/04

Getting some flash with swfdec under OpenBSD 4.3 ~current

As I havent been very successfull using Gnash as a flash replacement under OpenBSD I decided to check out swfdec as a replacement. This has been partly successfull. Youtube? No, that crashes on Firefox.

But here is how I did it so far: First I got the latest ports tree. How to do this you should learn in the OpenBSD FAQ. I use cvsup package to fetch the latest. That gave me swfdec 0.6.8. I then copied swfdec to my /usr/ports/mystuff/graphics/swfdec/ and then did a sudo make package and after than installed the package from /usr/ports/packages/i386/all/swfdec-0.6.8.tgz .

So this gives us libraries but no plugin. How to install the Mozilla plugin is said on the swfdec Installation page:

./autogen.sh –with-plugin-dir=$HOME/.mozilla/plugins
make
make install

You do not need to run this as root because this is only installed in your local plugins directory then. After this fire up Firefox and check “about:plugins”. It tells me:

Dateiname: libswfdecmozilla.so
Shockwave Flash 9.0 r100

So soem things still do not work but I hope thiungs get better. Later version gave me a working Youtube on Linux – so 100% Flash on OpenBSD might not be that far away. I know real hardcore OpenBSDlers dont care about that – but from my perspective the fact is that a lot of content has moved to Flash – maybe unfortunately – but still it often did replace 100% proprietary Windows formats. I am also not too happy with flash but I still think its better than some other video formats. I also know that Flash is designed poorly – but I dont see a better alternative now. I also prefer Theora/OGG and such stuff.

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Software, Technology, Web

Palins speech on convention extremely weak

I have listened carefully – and the only thing she had to say about experience was that firstly that being a governour of Alaska is challenging and that the critics of the media actually targetted the fact of her not being part of the establishment. So from my view she has not made any point she really HAD to make – and this would have been why she would be a good president. I guess the McCain team has already given up to prove her experience, because they just cant. Why else would they have let her say nothing against all those arguments. And again she talked about how she opposed that bridge, that others say she never did. Weak performance, no facts.

Another thing that was interesting was as her husband dropped the little baby to the youngest, 7 year old, kid who could hardly hold the reposnsibility just because he wanted to stand up and wave his hand. So somehow this shows that he wont be the one caring for the children while his wife is busy.

This whole family looks false and staged – they use all their kids for political purposes (their son who goes to Iraque, the baby with down syndrom,…) I find this disgusting.

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

About Palins upcoming acceptance speech

Sharing some of my thoughts – I think as many americans realise that Sarah Palin is inexperienced – she needs to make a real great speech so she can show that even if she isn’t that experienced she is at least worth voting for. McCain jumping in for her to defend her has only increased the doubts. So she really needs to dig herself out of this whole. If she cant do all of that she might still convince some hardcore Replublicans but not the mainstream America. We will hear and see if she will meet the very high standards. I will watch her speech on CNN.

Leave a comment

Filed under politics